As I had a lot of spare time on my hands before Christmas I decided to build a bookcase as a present for my girlfriend (an avid book reader and collector). The design is based on ‘nomad style’ furniture, which doesn’t require nails or glue – I really liked the idea that it can be dismantled and easily transported. I got my inspiration from instructables.

DSC_0087

The finished product

The bookcase dimensions are 90x65x21cm, based on my measurements of existing bookshelves we had. The biggest challenge was finding a timber merchant who stocked plain square edged (PSE) wood that was deeper than 19cm, I think anything less is a bit shallow for most books.

Apart from drilling holes to help chisel some of the joints, I managed to build it without any other power tools. The lid sits on four dowel pegs, and I finished the whole thing with a couple of coats of boiled linseed oil, which provided a lovely finish. I’m happy to say it was well received on Christmas day!

Here are some more photos I took during construction.

Searching for knot-free PSE.

Searching for knot-free PSE.

Making the first cut

Is it straight?

Work in progress

Work in progress

Cutting the first shelf tenon joint

Cutting the first shelf tenon joint

The finished shelves

The finished shelves

Cutting the holes in the uprights

Cutting the holes in the uprights

Testing the shelves for fit

Testing the shelves for fit

A surveyor's dream.

A surveyor’s dream

